Illya Kuryakin video out today

Posted: November 18, 2014 in Releases, Video

B-sides. They got a short shrift. They barely even exist today. To a lot of younger music fans they’re just something that their parents told them about and that’s a shame. They may be unnecessary, archaic throwbacks to the early days of pop but I still miss them.

Famous B-sides include ‘I Am The Walrus’ and ‘How Soon Is Now?’. Some of my favourite B-sides include ‘Trade Winds’ by SFA and ‘Dancing The Manta Ray’ by Pixies. (I might add more to this list in the comments when I think of them. Add your own – it’s good to share.)

The lead off single from the forthcoming album ‘Down There For Dancing’ is ‘Wag The Wonderbitch’ which Jay Sillence made a video for but that single had a B-side… and that B-side is ‘Illya Kuryakin’.

Named for the most enigmatic spy on Sixties daytime television, Illya was always my favourite growing up. Much preferred to Napoleon Solo or even that alcoholic woman beater who seemed to be quite popular.

Red Kite are an excellent production/animation company based down South and it was these talented wonders who put together the video for this. It’s lush fast paced psych imagery and probably not recommended if you suffer from seizures or a heart condition. It suits the tune perfectly I think.

The tune is an instrumental surf-rocker. A genre I am endlessly fascinated with and I’m glad I got make my own weird take on it. I’d like to do more.

Comments
  1. Though later switched with its A-side ‘Everbody’s Gonna Be Happy’ (another ace song), ‘Who’ll Be The Next In Line?’ is a top B-side by The Kinks.

Leave a Reply

